Cumberland Falls by: James E. Lawson


"The fifty-ninth county in order of formation, Whitley County is located in southeastern Kentucky, along the Tennessee state line. It is bordered by Bell, Knox, Laurel, and McCreary counties and has an area of 443 square miles. The county was formed January 17, 1818, from a section of Knox County and was named in honor of Col. William Whitley, a Kentucky pioneer and Indian fighter. The county seat, Williamsburg was originally called Whitley Courthouse.

I am the County Coordniator for Whitley Co.  My name is Gayle Triller and I am in the process of updating and rebulding  this site.  If you have any data, photos, family group sheets or any other information that might help or be of any interest to others searching the same family please send it to me to be added to this site.  You never know what little bit of information might break down someone's brick wall or bring them to you with information or photos that you need.

What's New

Whitley County, Kentucky Archives

Births Bibles Biographies
Cemeteries Census County Resources
Courts Deaths  
Descendant Charts Court Documents Funeral Homes
Funeral Cards History Home Pages
Indian Rolls Land Grants Maps
Marriages Military Mortality Schedules
Obits Pensions Published Resources
Photos Schools Wills

Whitley County, Kentucky is proud to be a part of USGenWeb & KYGenWeb.

Last Update Thursday, 24-Aug-2017 23:45:06 EDT

County Coordinator

County Coordinator:  Gayle Triller
© 2015 by the KYGenWeb Team. All
rights reserved. Copyright of submitted items
 belongs to those responsible for their authorship or
creation unless otherwise assigned.